Okay, before you read my actual blog I would like to let you know I really couldn’t care less what you think about, me not standing up for the pledge because it’s not gonna change my beliefs. Therefore if you feel the need to comment something against my beliefs, that is a waste of time and irrelevant to my life. You may continue reading now…

Not standing for the the pledge is a peaceful protest. It’s a way of not standing for the injustice that is being ignored in America.Sitting during the pledge isn’t dismissing the soldiers, so to the people that say “it’s disrespectful to the people who fought for you and all your rights”, you’re right about them fighting for my rights but it would only be disrespectful to them if I didn’t exercise those rights that they fought for me to have to it’s fullest potential. So if anything we are respecting them by using the rights that they fought for us to have and if we didn’t use those rights it would be a shame that they fought for us to have rights, that we’re not even going to use.

In school I would always hear the pledge on the intercom and recite it  without really knowing what is was for. But lately hearing “I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.” just doesn’t seem like something I agree with because it’s not justice for all. There’s no justice for the many black victims who are being hated and hurt just for the color of their skin. There’s no justice for the black victims who are being shot on the streets by the people who are supposed to protect them.

So I’m going to continually silently protest in my chair.

